Owner pool build started - fiberglass partially in-ground

TKR

Gold Supporter
May 21, 2019
Central NC
My wife and I are just finishing up a country house which we've built ourselves. I've no experience with pools so any pointers, tips and advice are welcome!

We just got started on a 12x20 rectangular fiberglass pool that is sited just off our elevated rear concrete patio. This will be a partial in-ground pool with a new retaining wall on 3 sides, and the existing foundation wall forming the 4th side. (drawings attached). The 4.5' deep pool has a flat bottom. The pool deck will be a 4" step down from the existing concrete patio, which is a suspended slab, about 40" above grade.

The footings for the the retaining wall were poured yesterday. There is vertical rebar set for the retaining wall. A bond beam will be built into the wall. I am considering pavers for the deck instead of poured concrete, for looks and to have access to plumbing in case of leaks.

The pool arrives next week, to be set on a gravel base by our excavation contractor. Once in place I will do the plumbing and electrical. Then I'll have a mason build the wall followed by gravel backfill. I am ordering gravel for the base. I think #89 crushed stone will be a good choice but have found no definitive answer.

side elevation2.png

Attachments

• top4.png
    top4.png
    19.7 KB · Views: 28
Hi and welcome! Thanks for letting us come along for the ride!

Who will be doing the leveling for the bottom of the pool? That is the MOST important part of this build. Next most important is the compaction of the fill. It needs to be done in "lifts" I THINK it is 4" at a time. We can look it up together and see what the best way it and share what we find.

Did you have an engineer look at your plans for the walls? They are going to also play a huge part in the pool being safe over time.

Kim:kim:

Reactions: TKR
Well, this is an unusual approach for sure. I hope you'll take lots of pictures for us.