SWG, Water Testing and Solids PPM Ratio - Need Help

RodRamos

In The Industry
Jul 24, 2019
Trinity, Florida
BACKGROUND: Hello, first time poster but I've been using these forums for quite a while. Anyways, personally we have owned an inground pool ages ago (our old house) and even then we weren't there long enough to understand what we were doing poolwise. Now at our current t house we have no inground pool so we have installed above ground pools. We started with a big one, 22'x56 if I'm not mistaken and when we had the baby 15 months ago we downgraded to a 13'x30 which is perfect for us at the moment, the idea is to upgrade every few years to a bigger pool as she grows up and her swimming skills increase.

That being said I am NO expert in keeping a pool, learning as I go.

The first question is in reference to a Salt Water Generator. Could someone point me in the right direction to get more info about what it is, what they do, advantages vs disadvantages etc. I googled it but only found limited information.

The other question is a few weeks back because of all the rain and neglect on my part our pool turned green and had *embarrassed tadpoles. I shocked it, cleaned it, had to change the filter a few times but got the water crystal clear. I took a sample to Pinch a Penny and all tested well except the PPM levels were really high (3600). I read in cases like this the only option is to drain and refill. Since I was paranoid about putting the baby in that water I went ahead and drained and refilled. Anyways just retested at Pinch a Penny an hour ago and the PPM came back 1400. Is this normal for fresh tap water? I mean I cleaned the bottom of any material, had it all clean like new. I even rinsed the pump and inside the hoses.

I mean I noticed how Pinch a Penny never cleans their equipment between tests so could this be it.

I appreciate any help and insight you guys could provide.

ROD

Last edited:
Read ...