DebbievdH

Jun 16, 2020
Kentucky, USA
I am new to pools, and am rather confused about our Intex Salt Water Generator and Sand Filter system. I’m hoping someone can explain in a way I can understand.
So we followed all the instructions for set up (a week + into it now). It is the Intex Ultra Rectangular 12x24. The filter and SWG are Model ECO 15110-2. We initially added the salt, and the stabilizer. And all seemed well. But now it is slightly cloudy. After doing some reading, we are wondering if maybe we don’t understand the use of the SWG. I guess we thought the SWG ran ongoing when the filter was running. We thought the chlorinator button and the boost button (which I’m still not completely sure what the difference is) were just to boost the chlorine once a week for maintenance, and after heavy rain, or heavy use. Are we actually supposed to be running the chlorinator button for a set amount fo time daily?? Maybe that is a super silly question, but it really is not clearly stated, that I can find, in the manuals. Currently we are running the sand filter 12 hours per day, and using the chlorinator button once a week....I’m guessing that is why our water is not crystal clear. Can someone explain the system and what would a typical set up be. The pool is in a partly shaded location. And we live in KY.
the last test reading was: total hardness - 250, total chlorine and free chlorine both 0 😬, pH 7.6, total alkalinity 120, stabilizer 50
Salt 3240
I sure appreciate any help.