Pre construction questions

Jul 29, 2012
We are likely to install a large fiberglass pool in the next few months and I'm a total noob at all things swimming pool. We want something in the 15-16' wide and 40-42' long size in rectangle shape. There are 2 we are considering- The Tropic by Sun Pools-

The other has a built in spa is the Ultimate 40 by Leisure Pools-

My wife is 5'2 and we are not sure if the Ultimate's shallow end will be a bit deep for her at 4'3 (not sure if that is water or pool depth) vs the Tropic at 3' deep in shallow end. Neither is a diving pool and we have 2 teen boys, so not sure how happy they will be without a diving board. The pool is mainly for the adults as the kids will be at college in 3 years. Any thoughts on shallow and deep ends?

Also, how much concrete on each side would you get? We want at least 4 feet all around plus more on shallow end for chairs, possible small pavilion or gazebo for shade.

How many lights do I need? What BTU heater (natural gas) would you use for southern Kentucky?
Any extras you'd recommend or things you'd do differently if starting a build?

We have an aluminum fence that will need to partly come down for the build. Anyone know how much width the machinary will need to get through?

The Ultimate is only available from one PB who has serious upcharges compared to the Tropic PB. It seems everything they sell is about 30% more- concrete at 10.25/sq foot vs 6.25/ sq foot, etc. Both have decent reputations otherwise.

Last edited:
My wife is 5'2" and I'm 6'2" and our pool goes from 3'8" to 6'. The adults gravitate to the 4'-5' area and the kids to the 6' area.

We also have some friends who have a 3' deep shallow end, and it is uncomfortably shallow, even for them and they are short.

Hope that helps.

Reactions: Apsuhead
Some reading...

Also, how much concrete on each side would you get? We want at least 4 feet all around plus more on shallow end for chairs, possible small pavilion or gazebo for shade.