Pentair Heat Pump and Pentair PL4

coyote77

Sep 12, 2021
Fort Worth
Hi,

If I get a Pentair Heat Pump Cooler, which AFAIK has a RS485 connection which can be used with a PL4 with ScreenLogic, in order to be able to control the Heatpump from the Pentair app, does the Heat Pump need to use a relay from the PL4, or can it be plugged without the relay, but connected to the RS485? I want to understand if I will be short in relays and need to upgrade to a PL8, or if I can use it only with the RS485 connection and no relay.

If what I'm asking doesn't make sense, I apologize, I'm new in all this.

Thanks

If you have not already purchased the PL4 you might want to think again.

The "L" in PL4 stands for "lite" as in the lite salad dressing that no one can eat. :mrgreen:

It has no load center, it has very limited functions, and only has two Feature Circuits and a max of 4 schedules including any active egg timers.

I predict that you will be less than happy with it.

There is no such thing as a PL8.

That said, heaters do not require a relay. But keep in mind the EasyTouch 4 really only has 3 user programable relays. One of the 4 relays can only be used as the Pump/Filter relay, even if you don't need it.

Thanks,

Jim R.

If you have not already purchased the PL4 you might want to think again.

The "L" in PL4 stands for "lite" as in the lite salad dressing that no one can eat. :mrgreen:

It has no load center, it has very limited functions, and only has two Feature Circuits and a max of 4 schedules including any active egg timers.

I predict that you will be less than happy with it.

There is no such thing as a PL8.

That said, heaters do not require a relay. But keep in mind the EasyTouch 4 really only has 3 user programable relays. One of the 4 relays can only be used as the Pump/Filter relay, even if you don't need it.

Thanks,

Jim R.