IC40 Green status light shutting off after about 3-5 minutes

ZEvans12

Apr 29, 2021
Bradenton, FL
Hi All,

I recently moved to Florida into a house that has a saltwater pool. This is my first pool ever, so I'm still learning the ropes. Everything went smoothly for the first 2 weeks, but the kids complained that the pool was too cold, so we had a pool heater put in. About a week or so after that I noticed that the pool was turning green on the bottom. The guy at the local shop just chalked it up to us using it all the time and sent me home with a few gallons of chlorine to clear it up.

Fast forward a week, same issue. Go back into the pool store and they tell me my Intellichlor IC40 isn't producing any chlorine. Have someone come out and he tells me that the status light isn't working so I have to buy a new one. I start trying to mess with things on my own based on reading this forum and the cell looks like it shows it has zero life life when I hold more for 3 seconds. However I notice that when I switch my Sanitizer output from 2% to 4% or 6%, the cell status light turns green and stays on for a minute. I chalk it up to the cell just being old.

Fast forward to today. I bought a new IC40 off eBay and installed it myself. Hook everything up, it turns on and runs and all the lights turn green. I go out about 30 minutes later and the cell status light is off again. I talk with one of me neighbors and he tells me to look at the date on the back of my old IC40 to see how old it is, and it's from 2019. So now I'm thinking that my old cell wasn't the problem.

Any idea why my cell status light keeps going off? This cell does the same thing of it I change it from 2%-6% then the cell status light turns on for a few minutes and then shuts off, exactly like my old one. If I do the 100% output, the cell lights stays on and works all the time.

Attachments

• New IC40 picture.jpg
    New IC40 picture.jpg
    308.2 KB · Views: 31