SWG not producing chlorine

I have an AquaRite with T-9 cell that is not producing chlorine. FC in the pool says zero, but the water looks beautiful even through this massive heat wave this month. I inspected the salt cell and it is clean. This is my first time looking at diagnostics in depth, so please bear with my lack of knowledge as this is our first full season after installation last summer. I clicked through the diagnostics and saw that I had a salt reading of 5000, then all other readings looked good, including a -3100 setting. However, then it showed that my unit was set to T-3 cell. I tested the water at home, then took it to Leslie's and both readings were 3100. I just recalibrated my salt and it is now set to 3100. I also changed the cell to T-9. I just turned my unit to superchlorinate. I have no idea when or how the cell unit got to T-3...honestly, it could have been like that since it was installed last summer and I'd have never known the difference. Would that have caused the readings to go out of whack and no chlorine to be produced?

Yes, I verified salt readings with K-1766, my salt meter, and at Leslie's. Diagnostics are now 3100 (was 5000 until I recalibrated), 90, 25.4, 5.4, 81P, -3100, AL-5, r 1.59, t-9 (I changed it from t-3, no idea how long it was like that as I didn't install pool).

Edit: Now I'm seeing that the program code should be AL-0 to signify "Aqua Rite". No idea why it would say AL-5, but I have just changed it to AL-0.

Last edited:
If the settings are randomly changing, it's usually due to a bad connection between the display board and the main circuit board. If you pull it off and reinstall it, that will usually help.

It was probably set correctly. Most likely, the settings changed due to a bad connection between the display board and the main board.

AL-0 is AquaRite
AL-1 NatureSoft
AL-2 MineralSprings
AL-3 SmartPure
AL-4 This changes the default display from average salt to percent output.