Oklahoma City, OK
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-60 Plus
My fancy new SWG showed up today and I am anxious to get it installed. I haven't done too much work with PVC before, but with my previous experience as an airplane mechanic, I don't think it would be too difficult. The only issue is I am not sure what I "don't know" and am not sure how to proceed. I attached a picture to supplement my issue.

I am going to install the SWG after the heater. Currently, there is a puck dispenser (not used) that I will just toss into the shed. What I am not sure about is the unions/adapters/etc. that I have marked with the black arrows. Especially the brass colored one (far right in picture) that seems to be PVC. I understand the "long runs" that I need for installation, so my thought is Heater > SWG > Flow Switch. So, my question is how difficult will it be to remove these apparent adapters? Especially the one(s) that are on the far left going into the directional valve.

I don't think it's a difficult job, but I don't want to hack into something that will require professional help and perhaps several days of no pump/flow/etc. Thoughts and opinions are appreciated!3.jpg
1.jpg2.jpg

How long is area in red on the first picture..What I am wondering is if you can cut it at the plugging hole and buy a new heater adapter and just replace it from there to the valve.
It's a 30" run. Not sure about the "plugging hole"...are you talking about the plug that has a brass cap on it? And the heater adapter, is this the piece *after* the sweep fitting?

You can Unions for hayward heaters on Amazon, I would buy a new union and start fresh from there out.
Maybe some experts can comment on if the flow switch needs to be a certain distance before or after..

The group helped me design mine when I didn't think it was possible so see if other have ideas also.