New pool owner - hi all

ParB

Gold Supporter
Silver Supporter
Bronze Supporter
Apr 26, 2020
SF Bay area (silicon valley)
As of April 1st I am a new pool owner. It came with the house I just purchased. To be honest, having a pool wasn't a requirement for us, we loved the house and it came with a pool. So I am in learning more about pools, I've never had one or been near them growing up (I grew up in the snow).

So I know nothing... Total newbie here!
I haven't measured the size of the pool, my tools in the garage is still in boxes but I estimate it to be about 70 feet long and ten feet wide. One one end there are steps into the pool and a smaller spa jacuzzi is set into the same side. I'd guess that the spa is 5x5 feet in size.

Equipment? I have no idea. The previous owner used a pool company and could not advise me. Since I'm a newbie I decided to start by continuing the pool service until I can figure things out for myself. The pool company gave me access to an app on my phone called screenlogic by which I can turn on the spa, heat the spa and the pool and turn on lights in the pool. They told me I have a pressure cleaner, variable speed pumps and a pressure pump for the cleaner. Also an UV light next to the filters for cleaning the pool water. The cleaner runs about 2 hours per day on a schedule in the pool. The pool pump runs about 8 hours per day. These are settings from the previous owner.

I have a motorized pool cover, that I close each night to reduce the amount of leaves that land in the pool. There is a tree not too far from the pool that needs serious trimming. I cleaned the little filter bag on the pool vacuum today, an impressive amount of leaves came out, about two fistfuls.

Looking to learn how to manage the pool myself! I can take pics of the equipment if it helps.
20200426_145210.jpg

Last edited:
Hi and welcome! What a pretty pool AND area! I would LOVE to see more of the patio and house!!!