Just an intro

daheimes

Jan 23, 2021
Omaha, NE
I’m fairly new to pools. Bought a house in Nebraska 2 seasons ago that had an existing 20k gal in-ground vinyl liner pool. I’ve done okay with the chemicals so far. I have done a ton a research so far, but still have a lot to learn. I have opened and closed my pool both seasons. The heater was pretty old and finally needed to be replaced, so I’m taking the opportunity to re-do all of my equipment. I’m upgrading to a variable speed pump and switching from a sand filter to a cartridge filter and switching from a normal chlorine pool to a salt water pool and of course replacing the heater with one that has the cupro-nickel heat exchanger. I’m going to install a basic pool automation system that controls the heater, pump, and SWG. I’m trying to do all of the work myself so that it forces me to learn as much as I can. My only water feature is a pool slide. I would like to get to the point where I could be gone for a week and not come back to a green pool. So far I feel like a bit of a slave to the pool, although it seems to be worth it most of the time.

Hey d, welcome to TFP, glad you found us.

Your goal is totally doable. I do that regularly, and I've yet to push it but I expect I could go two weeks no problem, maybe more.

If you care to, you can post your equipment list and we'll completely rip it apart gladly review it and offer suggestions for improvement if there are any. ;)

Seriously, though... I blazed through a bunch of improvements before I found this group, and regret a few choices, one in particular that is too expensive to replace, so I have to live with it. Grrrr. Easily avoided had I had TFP to lean on. So post up brands and model numbers, if you dare, and maybe we can help you out.