IntellipH burned connector preemptive fix?

bertschb

Bronze Supporter
Dec 11, 2021
Arizona
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
I installed an IntellipH three months ago and have followed other threads by @Turbo1Ton and @Dirk showcasing their fixes for burned connectors. My connector looks fine but I don't want to be scrambling to fix it if it fails later. Plus, I think the fix is easier if the connector isn't burned.

I'm really good at snow skiing, mountain biking and copying what other people do. Otherwise I have no skills at anything else. To show you how poor my skills are, I need help understanding Fix #1 that @Dirk shared in his thread here

It appears you connect the two red wires (and also the two black wires) leading into the connector. Is that correct? If so, what does that actually do? I told you I'm not an electrician!

Also, if that is indeed what I need to do, can I just cut the two red wires and connect them with a 4-way Wago connector? I know the preferred connection is soldering but I rarely have good results soldering.

Screen Shot 2022-07-02 at 9.02.22 AM.png

This is correct. You can cut both red and black wires and tie each one, respectively, together. The board gets its power through the red and black conductors. The Intellichlor is also powered through the red and black. The way it is currently set up, all of the current that the Intellichlor draws, comes in on one red conductor, passes through the connector and a trace on the PCB, and back out through the other side of the connector, out to the Intellichlor. This connection also draws a little bit of power for the control power for the IpH board.