How do I turn spillway off?

May 2, 2021
Burlington, MA
Hi all, newbie here. 30k gallon PebbleTec Salt water pool with raised beam and spa on top which has spillover into pool.
I have constantly rising pH and it seems that having the spillway flowing 24-7 is part of the problem. I have a variable speed pump, which runs on high during day and low overnight... spillway is constantly going. I have Pentair and Jandy equipment, automated with iAquaLink. When the PB set everything up, they made it sound like the spillway should always be going, unless you switch to Spa mode (which won't circulate water in the pool so seems like a bad idea for long periods of time). Is there a way to turn off the spillway but keep the pool water circulating atleast during the low speed hours overnight? Here are pics of the plumbing... please help!

Attachments

• IMG_6407.JPG
    IMG_6407.JPG
    637 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_6410.JPG
    IMG_6410.JPG
    574.9 KB · Views: 20
L,

Sorry, but your pool builder sounds like an idiot to me.. Constantly running spillway and running too fast does not fit my idea of running a pool the proper way.

You can't turn off your spillover because your pool builder took a short cut and did not give you a make up valve.. Instead, he offset your Automated Return valve so that it always dumps a little water into your spa when you are in the pool mode.

You could adjust the Return valve back to normal if you wanted, but then you would never have any spillover water going to your Spa.. unless you set up a "Spillway" function in your automation. Not hard to do, but I am not sure how to do it with your specific system. You would then schedule the spillway to run twice a day for half an hour, which would keep your spa filled with fresh water.

Let's see if we can get one of our Jandy automation guys to chime in...

Thanks,

Jim R.

Reactions: LivinMyBestLife
Welcome to TFP.