KOBrien12

May 29, 2020
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Hi Everyone, I'm new to TFP and to pool ownership. We purchased a home with an 30k gallon IG gunite pool 2 years ago (this is our third summer). Here is a quick run down of the first issue I want to tackle with this pool:

Year 1
  • We swapped out the old pump for a VS-SVRS pump and had no issues.
Year 2
  • Tile had to be repaired after the winter (live in CT). Job was messy, I spent most of the summer vacuuming up cement and chipped tile from the pool (was careful and used the vacuum attachment to catch the large pieces to prevent them from going into the filter.
  • Began having a flow issue with the VS-SVRS pump, resulting in the Filter being turned off constantly because of the SVRS feature. Wasn't very educated on the SVRS function other than being told if you have kids it's safer. Our drain is on the deep end of the pool so the safety feature of this is a mute point for our particular pool. I battled with the Pump ALL SUMMER and because it would not run consistently, the pool was terrible to maintain ALL SUMMER. I spent more time working on the pool than swimming in it, complete nightmare.
Year 3 (THIS YEAR)
  • Changed to a Variable Speed Flow pump and got rid of the SVRS pump.
  • Converted to a salt pool by adding the Pentair EasyTouch system with the IntelliChlor IC40 Salt Cell, added the ScreenLogic 2 to control the system by phone
  • Changed to a Pentair DE60 filter (replaced an old cartridge filter)
  • Added a Raypak Electric Heat Pump
THE PROBLEM
  • We had the above equipment installed by a local pool professional who wasn't familiar with automation or ScreenLogic, however after 2 weeks that's under control as of today - pool is still very Green but today was also the first day the IntelliChlor read a proper salt level and activated. The past two days our pool guy put shock tabs in our skimmer basket. I'll figure out chemistry eventually but the main problem I need help with is the following: