Texas
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
I have a pentair master temp 400 and once I get in the 90s my heater seems to run for a minute or two, stop heater and throw a service heater light, and then feels like it’s actually pushing cold water for a bit. A couple minutes later the process repeats.

Any idea what I can check? No error codes are displayed.

I took off the thermocoupler and it responds as expected based on the video.

However, when I go put it back in I walk by the pool and a bunch of white powder surrounded both drains. The pool was obviously off while I was doing the thermocoupler check.

Any thoughts?

I went ahead and swept the white powdery and turned on my pump after replacing the thermocoupler.

I doubt the white powder has anything to do with your heater problem.

What drains are you talking about? Post some pics.

I doubt the white powder has anything to do with your heater problem.

What drains are you talking about? Post some pics.
It was the main drains at the deep end. I didn’t take a pick as I randomly panicked. It’s as if the drains were volcanoes of white powder. Maybe 12” in each direction.

Please create your signature with details of your pool and equipment so we know what we are discussing.

The main drain takes water in. Water does not flow out of it to blow powder out unless you have some unusual plumbing setup.

When the heater drained due to pulling the temperature regulator, I suspect there was some back flow to the pool.

But white powder is odd. Have you added any solid chemicals lately? Did the powder readily dissolve?

Reactions: RDspaguy
When the heater drained due to pulling the temperature regulator, I suspect there was some back flow to the pool.

But white powder is odd. Have you added any solid chemicals lately? Did the powder readily dissolve?
It did readily dissolve. I’m confused - was hoping it was a clue to the heater.