DrewPool

May 30, 2023
Salem, New Hampshire
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello world! I'm new to pools and overthinking my pool levels. I'm looking for the ideal levels for my gunite pool and I have seen the recommended levels different depending on where you look.

TFPEZ PoolsTaylor Test Kit
FREE CHLORINE1-3ppm1-3ppm2-4ppm
pH7.6-7.87.4-7.67.4-7.6
TOTAL ALKALINITY60-8080-120ppm80-120
CALCIUM HARDNESS350-550200-300ppm200-400
STABILIZER/CYANURIC ACID40-5030-100ppm30-50

My question is, which one do I follow and what do you recommend. Thanks

:( Except those aren't the TFP suggested numbers. Please use the link I listed for our guide, and follow the FC/CYA chart.

The higher your CYA is, the more FC you require.
No way would we tell anyone to have only 1-3ppm FC when their CYA was 40-50ppm!?

Maddie :flower:

Reactions: DrewPool
I just made the table looking at the three different sites. I have the TFB numbers listed first, I was just curious as to why they seem to be different depending on where you look. Thanks!

You are at TFP and we recommend you follow TFP care methods. That is more then a few numbers.

I suggest you ask the other sites why their recommendations do not follow modern pool care science.

:( Except those aren't the TFP suggested numbers. Please use the link I listed for our guide, and follow the FC/CYA chart.

The higher your CYA is, the more FC you require.
No way would we tell anyone to have only 1-3ppm FC when their CYA was 40-50ppm!?

Maddie :flower:
Valid point, my CYA is 63 so it recommends I have between 7-8 FC, that seems high to me but I'm a rookie here who has just been reading. I'm debating draining some of the water to lower the CYA.

I had my local pool place test my water, i just bought a test kit so I'll double check it.
If you got taylor k2006 or tf-100, or tf-pro then wait on that & test Then we can help you forward.