Lake Charles, LA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-60
I have no experience with heat pumps, so others will have to chime in.

We have a lot of chillers on our routes. Glacier brand. They technically work, but we hate the maintenance on them.

I second Maddie's suggestion. If you can add a neat feature, you'll have some visual candy with a purpose!
Brad, I don’t want to hi-jack this thread, but I would be interested in more detail on your maintenance experience with the Glacier chillers. We will be using ours for the first time this summer. What do you recommend for preventive maintenance and operating tips besides what is in the operating manual? Thanks, Mark

Moved from here.

Last edited by a moderator:
I saw the title and as a Glacier owner for well over 5 years I was intrigued. Other than cleaning leaves out of the basin every Spring when I open the pool, and then draining the basin, hosing the chiller off, and putting a tarp over the it when closing in the fall, I don’t have any regular maintenance for our Glacier.

As part of non-routine maintenance, I once had to reattach the pump in the basin, as it is connected to the outlet port using PVC glue. Guess the factory skimped on the glue. That occurred shortly after it was installed and it has held up ever since. Right around year 5, I had to replace the fan motor. I run the chiller for 16-17 hours every day during the summer, so I probably put more stress on the motor than most.

Neither repair was difficult. I’m not the handiest when it comes to stuff like that, but was able to manage each repair on my own.

As far as how well it works, the Glacier saved our pool. Our water temp would hit 95° around July 4 and no one wanted to get in the pool. It’s rare for the water temp to reach 85° now. You don’t have to keep it that cool. That’s just the way I like it. 🙂

Reactions: Ignoramus
Maybe this will help get Brad's attention..... @bradgray