2005 Sundance 850 Marin pump 1 function questions & other small issues

AvockAdoo

Nov 8, 2022
Denver
Hey all - first time poster here. I have done quite a bit of scanning, and I cant find the answer to my question so I figured I'd start here.

I am new to this 2005 Sundance - picked it up for free in Denver "working" but leaking a bit. Got the leak fixed with a new pump fitting, but now I've got a function question. List of things I've done/questions below

1. The ozone generator trips my breaker every time. I unplugged it, everything is fine and I'm fully heated up.

2. The circ pump needed to be replaced - I replaced it, that got things heating.

3. When I hit the Pump 2 button, they fire right up. When I hit Pump 1, I hear a click, then nothing happens for a while, about two minutes later I hear another "click" and the pump turns on - seemingly without struggle. Note also the turbine spins VERY easily with a pen pushing on the fans - indicating the bearings are at least good. (Obviously tried this with power disconnected). All connections look solid to me too.

4. This morning everything was good to go, I checked the spa an hour later, the breaker had tripped. Flipped it back on - good to go.

Now, my question: Should Pump 1 also fire up straight away? Do I have a pump thats on its way out? Fine if it is, just want to get it replaced before I spend time away from home - I wouldnt want the tub to freeze up in the cold here (denver). I'm wondering if my issues 3 & 4 are related or not.

From my research, typically its the heating element that blows the breaker. My heater *seems* fine, but I'm not positive on when it was last replaced. So maybe the breaker trip is related to that?

I'm a big DIY guy, mechanical engineer with a background in various car repair experience from oil changes to transmission swaps - so I feel fairly confident in tackling hot tub repair, with the proper advice from a well known forum.

Thanks in advance for your help!