Which 14x14/15x15 pool would you buy?

mxcolin

Jan 21, 2022
Rocklin, CA
I've had 2 seasons with a 14'x8' above ground pool and I realize now that it was just too small. We bought a Bestway Power Steel above ground pool:

It was/is decent, the first year there was nothing but trouble with the pump, second year, bought an Intex Sand Filter Pump and things were easier, however, the 2 biggest issues are that it's too small and it's not inviting to get into. So my new plan is to buy a 14x14 or 15x15 round pool and look for a way to add a more substantial way to get in/out of the pool, rather than the tiny ladder that came with this set. If this was/is your situation what would/did you buy? The Bestway pool itself always felt like a quality product to me, the only issue I had was that the 1.25-inch hoses always seemed too small and I felt like a 1.5-inch hose/inlet size would be better to get water in/out of the pool, although this might be purely imaginary as I am far from an expert in this regards. Any thoughts/advice or experiences that would push you in one direction or the other for a specific brand/pool would be greatly appreciated. I've put aside around $1,000 as a budget to buy the pool itself.

Not a lot of AGP around here this time of year. If you don’t get many replies you may want to bump this thread around April as they come here for pool openings and help with green pools.

If you want a better ladder/ steps be aware they will take up more space in the pool so take that into consideration. The pool factory,doheny’s, & others have a myriad of ladder/step choices - also for the budget conscious there’s buying used on fb marketplace.
The motto here w/ pool size, filter size, & swg size is always get the largest you can afford & will fit in your space.