Weir door sucked closed

Flamer

Dec 29, 2021
New Zealand
Hi friends,

Pool newbie here. I just discovered I had a weir door in my pool shed so I clipped it into place in the skimmer and all went well (amazed at the difference it made!) this morning though I heard the motor noisier than normal, checked it out and the weir door had been sucked closed by the skimmer and was blocking any water flow and the motor had been sucking dry for an hour woops.

I have put a large stone in the skimmer now (between the skimmer plate and weir) which prevents the flap from being able to get sucked all the way down again but it's not ideal the stone could fall into the basket at anytime and it will happen again.

The water level is right on halfway or perhaps a bit less of the skimmer, not sure what else I should do?

It's a vac/weir. Part number is quip master sk1000, I leave the vaccum port closed fully. The polystyrene is intact and it seems to float OK most of the time but with my pump running 12 hours a day I'm very concerned of burning it out if left all day.

Any ideas?

Not quite sure what you're saying. Weir door flaps towards the inside of the skimmer and does 2 things. If water level is correct it'll create better skimming and secondly when the pump is off it'll close and not let debris out from the basket back to the pool. How can it create the condition you describe. How can it get sucked closed if it's where it belongs it gets sucked open unless you somehow you have it mounted on the wrong side but can't see how. Pictures Pictures please.

I'll take some pics tomorrow, to better explain it.

Before the pics arrive to better explain it:
1) with the pump off, the door is vertical, 90 degrees straight up
2) with pump on its about 45 degrees with water flowing over it into the skimmer basket
3) problem state - door goes 180 degrees, flat/hortizonal, being sucked down against the skimmer basket, blocking any water from going through