Using bleach

stargazer1018

Bronze Supporter
Jul 4, 2018
SEYMOUR, TN
I'm brand new to the group. This is my 3rd year with my pool and I'm still learning. I've been taking my water to the pool company and using their test methods which is usually very helpful but it's time for me to learn to take care of this myself. I ordered the TF100 kit today but I've been on vacation and returned to a very green pool. My dad had taken a water sample to the pool company 2 days before I came home. The CYA was 90 at that point but nothing was said to him about dumping any water but sold him 40.00 worth of chemicals. He also used an additional 6 pounds of shock only to have no results as you can understand and I do too now that I'm learning. So I took another water sample yesterday to them and the CYA was now 110. I was told to dump half which I did and got it down to 54. I was told to put 5 lbs of shock in and the water would be blue (not clear) by today but guess what, it's not. It's now a light green. I'm learning 54 is still too high so I'm dumping a little more today, just under the skimmer. I'm out of shock and I'm wodering, can I use standard bleach ( Sodium Hypochorite) until my kit comes in and the company opens tomorrow to test my water again? Or is there something about the sodium. Last known ph was 6.5 but I added 12 pounds yesterday. Can't get a reading today since they're closed.

Re: Using bleach

Bleach is what we recommend that you use at all times. No need for any other form of chlorine. Either bleach or liquid chlorine. Really the same thing just different strengths. Watch out for extra things though. You want PLAIN bleach, no scents, no splashless, no extra added anything. I use Walmart 'cleaning' bleach and it works fine for me.

Thanks so much. Do you know how much I should put in a 17000 gal pool if my CYA is maybe around 40-45 now that I've added new water. I don't know that's what it is, I dumped about 25% of the water when the CYA was at 54.