Total noob - think we have black algae

Beastos

Jul 25, 2020
San Jose, California
Hi all,

Hoping you can help. We've been through the ringer at Leslies - had been going with the "just do whatever the people at the store tell us" approach to pool maintenance. Worked well enough for two seasons (wasn't super easy on the ol' pocketbook) but this one has been a doozy. My husband is fighting for just filling the sucker in, but I LOVE the pool, so am trying like heck to make the case for keeping it.

We're dealing with what I suspect is black algae - photos attached. Would love confirmation on that. I tried to do the scrape some on the fingernail and smear on paper test to confirm, but the smear was brown and not green.

We've also been remiss on basic pool maintenance. Did a test yesterday and CYA measure was below what our test kit could measure (we have the Taylor 2006c test kit) and don't have any chlorine measurable. (I know I know, not good.)

My general plan was to:
1. Raise cyanuric acid levels
2. Then measure pH, and get it in the 7.2 - 7.4 range
3. Then follow the suggestions here for dealing with black algae, which seems to be not SLAMMING, but keeping chlorine high and just below SLAM levels, while brushing the Darn out of the affected areas.

Does that sound right based on the pictures?

Note we have cracks in our plaster and are getting quotes on replastering (you may see me here again asking questions about that as well). Thanks in advance for all of your wisdom!

Attachments

• IMG_4774.jpg
    IMG_4774.jpg
    374.5 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_4773.jpg
    IMG_4773.jpg
    459.4 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_4772.jpg
    IMG_4772.jpg
    333.5 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_4771.jpg
    IMG_4771.jpg
    228.1 KB · Views: 40
Last edited by a moderator:
hello Beastos.... can you provide us with a full set of test resuts?
FC
CC
pH
TA
CH
CYA
Salt (if applicable)

Your pool needs chlorine NOW.... long before it needs the pH played with.