Total newbie! My kids love having a pool!

Colbuster

Aug 10, 2022
St. George, Utah
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
First time pool owner. Pool is 8 months old, ~39,000 gal and no cover. Plaster. Built in spa and slide/waterfall (use as aerator?). I have been using a "pool guy", but after I started growing algae and checking my own chemicals, I realized I am not getting what I am paying for! He says that I should have my alkalinity at or above 120 ppm? Doesn't that seem high? My chlorine is always below 1, salt generator is turned to 100% running 18 hours a day, and my salt level is 3100. pH always ends up above 8.2 a week after they are here. I'm pulling my hair out. I think I need to get a CYA level detector and start doing this all on my own. My temp has been running around 85-88 as we live in southern Utah desert. 109 F yesterday. I have the standard pH, chlorine, alkalinity measuring kit and a salt detector. What else should I get? CYA is enough? What about calcium detector? Thanks in advance!

I have the standard pH, chlorine, alkalinity measuring kit and a salt detector. What else should I get? CYA is enough? What about calcium detector? Thanks in advance!
Welcome. Well done; getting your own test kit is the first and most important step in maintaining your pool.

You're right, the CYA test is critically important. But if you're going to follow the TFP methodology, you'll also need a specific kind of chlorine test called FAS-DPD, in order to not only measure precisely (to within 0.5 ppm or better) but also measure across a wide range (from 0 to 20+ ppm). I'm almost certain that your test kit (which sounds like a Taylor K-1003 or K-1004) does not have that test. And you'll also want a calcium hardness test, and you'll want a drop test for salt if that isn't what your salt "detector" is.