SLAM taking too long!

dozer11

Jun 2, 2014
Thompson, ND
I’m beyond frustrated. Been slamming for 3 weeks now and we still can’t swim. Summers in ND are short enough and we are having hot weather and my pool is still cloudy. I used my K2006 test kit snd TA and PH were all within proper range to start the slam. I didn’t write the numbers down (this is my 7th opening with SLAM and I felt good about it. I learned my lesson. CYA was at 40. It’s down to 30 now because we have had to add water due to a slow leak. I bought a bottle of clarifier I want to try once my chlorine level is down to 4, as instructions say. I have been using the TFP method for 7 years now and I’ve never opened this late. I’ve kept the chlorine at SLAM levels really consistently 2-3 time a day adding chlorine, but hadn’t been able to brush and vacuum daily because I have a new baby and not that much time. I have passed the OCLT. I don’t think I have active algae. It’s just cloudy and that’s why I’m leaning towards clarifier so we can get in the pool ASAP.

I slammed to 16 with the cya of 40.

We changed out pool filter sand and also added DE several times.

I seeing improvement but it’s slow. I can see the bottom of the pool when I put my vacuum down there.

I’m looking for encouragement and hopefully advice on clarifier. I know it isn’t recommended but I plan on using it to open only and not regular use of it.

Attachments

• B0627C43-E2C0-41C1-9400-507DF7F53344.jpeg
    B0627C43-E2C0-41C1-9400-507DF7F53344.jpeg
    307.5 KB · Views: 22
  • CA3B309B-D001-49ED-A3CF-406858232D7E.jpeg
    CA3B309B-D001-49ED-A3CF-406858232D7E.jpeg
    184.1 KB · Views: 23
Well, we certainly understand life's priorities keeping you from the pool. But it's inevitable that a lack of brushing and/or vacuuming could delay a SLAM Process. Three weeks is a long time though for an AGP like that. You don't have a ladder or steps still in there do you?