Saltwater issues

Charlie0322

Jun 14, 2022
Massachusetts
I'm new to pool ownership and completely clueless on how to maintain our salt water pool. We have a 16x32 15,000 gallon vinyl in-ground pool. I feel like all we are doing is adding chemicals when I was under the impression salt water systems were easier to maintain. Our pool was clear yesterday and today it's cloudy. We had the water tested on Saturday and added everything that they told us to add. The pool builder set a timer on our pump/filter but it only runs from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. daily. The salt is at 3600 which seems rather high. Is the pump not running long enough and perhaps that is why the pool is cloudy? We plan to have the water tested again. In the meantime I ordered the Taylor Technologies K-2006-SALT Test Kit.

I'm new to pool ownership and completely clueless on how to maintain our salt water pool. We have a 16x32 15,000 gallon vinyl in-ground pool. I feel like all we are doing is adding chemicals when I was under the impression salt water systems were easier to maintain. Our pool was clear yesterday and today it's cloudy. We had the water tested on Saturday and added everything that they told us to add. The pool builder set a timer on our pump/filter but it only runs from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. daily. The salt is at 3600 which seems rather high. Is the pump not running long enough and perhaps that is why the pool is cloudy? We plan to have the water tested again. In the meantime I ordered the Taylor Technologies K-2006-SALT Test Kit.
What percentage are you running your salt water generator at? What pump do you have? What is your cya? Did u put the initial chlorine needed in via liquid chlorine to start? The swg is meant to replace the chlorine loss per day, it does not give you the initial dose.