Rush of Chlorine Odor When Solar Turns On

What you are smelling is chloramines. They are the by product of chlorine oxidizing ammonia based organics.

I assume you maintain your FC in the target range for your CYA.

What you are smelling is chloramines. They are the by product of chlorine oxidizing ammonia based organics.

I assume you maintain your FC in the target range for your CYA.

Thank you very much for your reply. I do my best to stay on top of the FC. I’m wondering if the fact that my solar panels don’t drain at the end of each day is why the chloramines build up and I’m getting the strong odor in the morning. I wish there was a way the solar system drain after it’s turned off, but because of the location of them on my roof and my pool equipment that’s not possible.

That is odd. I thought all solar systems have a VRV and should drain. You might want to check your system design. But I am not an expert on solar heating systems.

That is odd. I thought all solar systems have a VRV and should drain. You might want to check your system design. But I am not an expert on solar heating systems.
Anytime the panels are located on the opposite side of the roof that the pool equipment is on, water will not be able to drain out of the system. I’m trying to figure out a way to allow it to drain by rigging up some piping and valves. If water is sitting in a panel, I’m assuming the heat and lack of flow could be contributing to the build up of chloramines. Thoughts?

Not sure about the build up of chloramines -- what would the chlorine be reacting with? May be the extreme heat?

Let's ask @JoyfulNoise and @mas985 for their thoughts on the non-draining solar panels and the creation of CC in them.

Hot stagnant water in panels will definitely build up all sorts of nasty stuff. The chlorine in the water will definitely get used up and turn into chloramines over time of bacteria or organic biofilms are present. You could definitely benefit from a way of draining the system.