Pipe Diameter Sizes - Relocating Equipment

ramseyakl

Jun 30, 2020
Simi Valley, CA
Hello, I am extremely new to this thread and was recommended by a coworker about its unbelievable community and support. To make this thread short, ill get to the point; I am relocating my pool equipment to another location of my home. Now the equipment is approximately 7 feet away from the skimmer inlet. I am relocating it approximately 50 feet away at the same grade level (height). Currently, my piping that i have exposed is all 1.5" piping and I would like to bump up to 2" to increase volume. My questions (i am new to the science), will I suffer / compensate for pressure when I am vacuuming by relocating that far away as well as increasing piping size? Should I relocate it 50' away and keep the same size piping? I am going to transition from copper to PVC underground. My pump is a Hayward sp2302VSP with an older 36" filter, eight filter grids.

I dind't include in signature however i have no heater and no spa with my set up, so the relocating in very simple.

Is it necessary to install inline ball valves for the suction and return?

Any and all information is helpful. Thank you very much.

2" lines on the suction side will reduce resistance, increase flow and, overall, be quite helpful. I would do that.

1 and a half inch pipe on the pressure side is just fine. 2" pipe will reduce pressure but provide no appreciable other benefit. That said, it won't add much money to go to 2" on the pressure side but I would suggest 1.5"

I am not sure just where you are thinking of putting the ball valves. Give us a little better location.

Thank you for your kind reply. When you say pressure side, I assume that is the return back into the pool?