Pentair SWCG No Lights

jgill

Apr 16, 2023
Texas
I’m EXTREMELY new to all of this. I just bought a house with a Pentair IC40. The sanitizer output lights are on but every other light is off. I did have my salt levels checked and they were very low, so I’m adding salt now to the pool. I just don’t know what I’m doing and I know this is not normal.

Thanks in advance!

image.jpg

j,

Well, that is a new one on me...

Normally, when you apply power to the cell, several lights come and cycle through an initial start up routine.

Tell us more.. Do you have a standalone salt system, or is it connected to an automation system such as an EasyTouch?

Did it work when you first bought the house?

Salt cells last 5 to 7 years. How old is the cell? Look at the bottom of the cell or take a pic with your phone. The date of MFG is on the serial number label.

My gut says the cell is bad, as I can't think of anyway to get just the sanitize lights to come on by themselves.

Thanks,

Jim R.

Thank you both for the quick responses yesterday. Jim I do believe your gut feeling was right. I got the salt level where it needed to be and acid cleaned the cell and no good still.

I did learn that the previous own left the pool running 24hr a day, 7 days a week, all year. In Texas that mean this cell was producing for a good 6-7 months straight for 3 years in a row. The previous owner literally (and I mean that literally) never shut down his pool. Which explains why the cell only lasted 3 years.

I replaced it today and the new one is working just fine, no problems.

I look forward to being a part of this community with all of its knowledge.

Reactions: GregMorris
Thank you both for the quick responses yesterday. Jim I do believe your gut feeling was right. I got the salt level where it needed to be and acid cleaned the cell and no good still.