Omnilogic T-CELL PCB burnt & T-CELL connector burnt

Sep 1, 2015
Lockport, IL
I just replaced my board and cell for the first time. The cell cord connector was burnt and the socket on the board was burnt. I think this is a flaw in design with this sytem and I'm bot very happy. There is no reason this should be happening to these items especially for the amount of money spent on this equipment. I took my old cell off and it looks pristine inside. What is the purpose of the pcb board? I don't see any components soldered on the board other than 2 connectors and in my opinion is just an extension piece to move the connector forward off the main pcb board so you can pkug the cell from the cover. I'm an electrician with 20+ years of experience and I've never seen anything like this. These boards are failing for some reason but I think it has to do to the shotty connection from the cell to the board. You can see the board has a hokder and a screw to hold it in the mainboard tight but I'm thinking the cell connector to the board with ambient heat from weather and the weight of the cord loosens the connection and over heats and burns the connections up amd in turn the cell that has more life gets smoked in the process. This in my eyes is a design flaw that needs to be fixed. Too many people are having this issue then it burns the cells up. I live outside Chicago and Inuse my pool for roughly 17-18weeks out of the year with a properly balance pool and regar cell maintenance and there is no reason why I shouldnt be ble to to get 8-10 years out of cell or more because of my filtration cycle and that I don't use it for the full year any ways. My celland pcb board lasted only 4 1/2 seasons which for me equates to 76 weeks of usage so about a year and a half of usage. Why am I replacing this equipment??? I called Hayward on this and they never respond.

Welcome to TFP.