Mrswilli73

Jun 16, 2022
St. Louis, MO
Pool Size
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Intex Krystal Clear
Hi! Newbie here! Late last summer my hubby installed a beautiful deck over/around our 9 ft diameter, 2 ft deep poly stock tank pool. (I'll post pics soon.)
We have an Intex sand filter/SWG combo (probably overkill, I know). Anyway, for the approximate month we had it last summer, I don't remember having all the chemical balancing issues, but before we opened it this year, we cut down a ton of trees that shaded the area, so the pool gets a ton of sun now.
I've read through the basics on this site, and realize one big issue is my testing...I've been using strips for most. I have a kit, too, but only tests chlorine, bromine, and Ph. I am researching a new test kit.
Anyway, total hardness on test strip says 250, chlorine is always too low except in the evening after I have run the chlorinator for a little while (I usually only do 1 hr cycles...is this good?)
The Ph is registering between 7.8 and 8.4 on both strips and test kit everyday, even though Ive used quite a bit of Ph down. CYA (stabilzer on strip) says 50. I used some Clorox Scale, Metal & Stain Control (what the heck is the main ingredient in this?) when we first opened it, and it's not cloudy anymore, but did I mess up something with this product? I've also shocked with the clorox xtra blue 6 in 1. I know these aren't recommended products here, just frustrated with the chemistry, how long to run the pump and chlorinator everyday, and how to keep ot all balanced!

Hello and welcome! You have two options for a pool of that size - you can treat it like a seasonal pool that you drain/refill if you have trouble, or like a permanent pool that isn't meant to be drained.

If you want to do the former, see this link for pool care: