New pool owner - can’t get water clear

rsefer

May 26, 2022
Hobart, Indiana
Hi, I’m new to pools and need some help. I have an above ground pool and my boyfriend and I have been trying to get the pool open for the past month or so. There were A LOT of leaves in the pool and it was very green. We have shocked it 5-6 times (the guy at the pool store near us said to keep shocking it). We cannot get the water clear. We have used an automatic vacuum, manual vacuum, leaf vacuum and brush to try to clean the pool. Since we can’t see the bottom it’s hard to tell what still needs to be clean. The chemicals are balanced, we have added clarifier too. We clean the cartridge filter daily. But we just can’t get it clear. We don’t know what to do at this point so any help is much appreciated! I added a picture of what the pool looks like now and what it looked like in the very beginning.

Attachments

• C9CC6500-3B4E-4527-A8EA-BEF76EB489E0.jpeg
    C9CC6500-3B4E-4527-A8EA-BEF76EB489E0.jpeg
    621.2 KB · Views: 10
  • 109A0FC6-1A40-44B7-8AB8-E69D93DF8497.jpeg
    109A0FC6-1A40-44B7-8AB8-E69D93DF8497.jpeg
    749.8 KB · Views: 10
Welcome. What test kit are you using? Post your results so guidance can be provided. You’re going to need to slam.
Test Kits Compared
SLAM Process
Total chlorine - 3
Free chlorine - 3
Alkalinity - 80
CYA - 0, we’ve been having a hard time keeping this up
pH dropped overnight - now at 6.4

Do we need to shocking it and adding chlorine? We had pH and alkalinity at the correct levels but it rained yesterday and today.

CYA - 0, we’ve been having a hard time keeping this up
pH dropped overnight - now at 6.4
Where are you getting these numbers? Pool store?

You need a proper Test Kits Compared and do your own testing.

CYA should not be hard to keep up. It doesn't evaporate. It goes away by draining, or by conversion to ammonia.