Need help with plumbing advice

Wayhazard

Aug 15, 2018
Houston/Texas
Hi all,
I have a replacement Hayward pump (same model)for my above ground pool and need help to get this bad boy up and running. The previous owner glues the threads on the pipes so I can’t simply remove and place in new pump, going to Home Depot tell me what I need..
I’m new to pools and clueless on piping, I don’t have a problem removing the unions, the line at the 90 degree does not fully stop spilling water due to the main drain and I’m not sure if glue can be used on wet pipes.
Thanks in advance
Eddie

Attachments

sktn77a

Gold Supporter
May 16, 2010
Chapel Hill, NC
You're lucky that you have unions on your pimp. Unscrew the fitting that's on the pump and take it to Lowes/Home Depot and either match up the parts yourself or ask for help. They may not have the union coupling - if not you may have to go to a pool store to identify it.

Rich D

Bronze Supporter
Aug 3, 2018
MA
Have you tried a good size pipe wrench to remove the fitting from the pump? It sure looks like pipe dope on there and not glue.

Reactions: jonpcar

Jimrahbe

Mod Squad
TFP Expert
LifeTime Supporter
Jul 7, 2014
Bedford, TX
Eddie,

The actual connection to the pump is just threaded into place.. You should be able to unscrew it. You just need a pipe wrench. I really doubt that it is glued into place.

Thanks,

Jim R.

Reactions: Wayhazard

Wayhazard

Aug 15, 2018
Houston/Texas
Great info guys, I did not have a wrench big enough at the time I just tried by hand like I did for the unions. I will give a update after a few hours, busy busy day!

Thanks!

Rich D

Bronze Supporter
Aug 3, 2018
MA