Maybe I am doing this wrong?

Jun 25, 2020
Kentucky
Salt water pool. I have a taylor test kit, tested my water, first of all water looks crystal clear. Fc 3 CyA 40. Ph 7.6. ALK 220.... why would my ALK be so high? And what should I do about it? I do not want to mess up the PH. Maybe I messed up the testing? I am new to the taylor test... I have never added anything to make ALK high. My pool is basically maintenance free . I do not do much to it the salt water chlorinator takes care of it. I did add liquid chlorine after they mowed two hayfield around me recently just because it was so full of bugs and dirt to quickly clean it up and kill everything.

Welcome to TFP! I'm fairly new as well but you will find everyone on here really helpful. Some of the experts will come on and ask you some details about your pool. In general though if you have the Taylor test kit and it is new then sometimes a static electric charge can build up on the R-0009 dropper bottle tip, causing the drops to be smaller than usual and making the test read higher than actual. You can prevent that by wiping the tip of the dropper bottle with a damp cloth or tissue before you start and after each drop. Hold it vertically and let gravity do the work - think big drops. I think my first test (no wiping the dropper) I had an TA of 400! So try it again.

It also helps to know what you are starting with. Test the water you fill the pool with as well.

Good luck. This is a great place!

Jamie,

See the saltwater part of this chart... FC/CYA Levels

We recommend that anyone with a saltwater pool keep there CYA at about 70.. this means keeping your FC at about 5 ppm.. Your 3 ppm is right at the minimum.

Unless you are having problems with your pH, I would not worry about your TA.. I suspect that your fill water is high in TA. or.. as bb above point out a testing error.

We never recommend adjusting TA just to get to a number.. Don't change TA unless you are trying to solve a problem with your pH.

Thanks,