Nov 29, 2022
TX
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-60
I am new to pool ownership and have a quick question about pool lights.

1. Other than the obvious is there an difference between using a 12 volt light or a 120 volt light. Our current pool has an Intermatic PX300 connected to the existing light. I am installing a new control panel and in the process was going to replace the transformer as it is original and the housing is in bad shape.

2. Tied to the first question is it “easy” to pull a new light cable? The existing light does not work as the housing leaked and it needs replaced. I was just not sure if you put in the new light how you would pull the cable from the control box to the light as the only junction box is at the control panel and the rest of the conduit is buried over to behind the light fixture.

Easy is relative to the length of the light cord and the age of the conduit. Twelve-volt lights have thicker cable so the pull is a bit harder. If it is 1" PVC conduit, it shouldn't be a big problem.
The old light is cut off the existing cord. Strip 6" or so from the three conductors of both the old and new cord. Loop them together and wrap the excess tightly around itself. Use tape to keep the ties from pulling loose, you don't want the cord to separate half way through a pull. Pull the new light with the old cable back to its junction box.
This is a good video of the process and the new light is 12V (orange cord), its worth a view or two..

Reactions: mknauss
Thank you! I was just trying to look ahead to potentially replace this as I am fixing some of the items with the pool this spring.

1. Other than the obvious is there an difference between using a 12 volt light or a 120 volt light. Our current pool has an Intermatic PX300 connected to the existing light. I am installing a new control panel and in the process was going to replace the transformer as it is original and the housing is in bad shape.