Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-30
Hello,
I'm a new pool owner and planning for my first winter in Raleigh, NC. Even though I have a pool heater I am not planning to use the pool but still keep it open during the winter. Since I'm new to pool I have been getting a regular pool service. Since I will not be using the pool I want to discontinue the service (save money) and take care of the pool myself. I am comfortable with the following: getting rid of leaves/debris, cleaning the skimmer baskets, cleaning the pump filter basket, backwash and rinse the sand filter. Also, I do have a robot vacuum cleaner.
Can anyone please help me with the following to keep my pool open during winter (apologies as many questions are very basic):
  1. I was getting a regular pool service so no idea about the chemicals to balance water chemistry. I have a salt generator (pentair ichlor 30), I think it should take care of the chlorine but what other chemicals should I be using to balance the water during the winter even though I will not be using the pool?
  2. Can you please recommend a pool water test kit for a beginner?
  3. I have a 15K gallon salt water pool (fiberglass). How many hours should I run the pump (pentair superflow VST, 1.5 HP) per day? Can you please recommend different RPM and runtime combos?
  4. How often do I need to backwash?
  5. I am not planning to use the pool but do I need to use the pool heater if the temperature reaches freezing?
  6. Is there anything else that I need to do or monitor?
Thank you so much!