Introduction

TroyR

May 19, 2019
Michigan
Hello everyone,
My name is Troy and I live in Michigan. Purchased a home in the fall that has an above ground pool that looked to be pretty well maintained.

Although I have never cared for a pool, I am a Water Operator for the city I live in and consistently use chemicals and calculations for water treatment so I believe I’ll be able to figure out a lot just with my work experience.

I was recommended by the old home owner to bring samples down to the near by pool store which I may do for year 1, but I am very interested in the BBB method.

I think I’m going to order one of the Taylor test kits this coming weekend.

Troy

Reactions: TroyR
Ohhhhh Troy.... you can do this without the pool store, honest! Lots of folks walk in to the pool store for the "free" water testing and walk out with hundreds of dollars of questionable chemicals and potions.

With your own tester (no one cares more about your test quality than you!) and a few basic ingredients you can pick up at the market, you can have a sparkling clear clean oasis!

Welcome to TFP! Home of the Trouble Free Pool Care method!
(psssst..."BBB" term isn't used anymore)

Maddie :flower:

Thanks all
I will probably order the TF100 instead, are any of the add-on’s recommended?

And I guess I am curious what my first steps should be when opening my pool up in the next couple weeks
1. Fill?
2. Test chlorine & cya ?

Then that will tell me my next step?

Would appreciate some basic direction

1) order TF-100 (or XL if the water is green already?)
2) Add Speed Stir device (NO one regrets this)
3) When test kit arrives- perform full set- FC, CC, pH, TA, CH, CYA
4) List numbers here and describe water appearance..... we'll help you!

In the meantime, scoop out any solid debris carefully so as to not damage the liner.
Start reading PoolSchool--> ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry , FC/CYA Levels , SLAM Process