Florida
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Jandy Truclear / Ei
Hello everyone! I’m pricing out pool builds right now and only one builder is using Pentair equipment. When I mentioned that I wanted 9 jets in my spa and the option to add to the automation system later, he recommended the Pentair IntelliCenter and a secondary pump so I could run the water feature and spa at the same time. I read the info on here about the IntelliCenter and it sounds like a good system. Then today I got my quote...wow! He priced the IntelliCenter at $5800, $1035 for an upgrade to my pool pump to a VSF and $2555 for a VS secondary pump for the water features. After a quick online search these prices, specifically the automation, seem high. I’m not a pool expert by any means and maybe there’s something I’m not factoring in. What do you guys think?

Dew,

There are several different versions of the "IntelliCenter" so you have not provided enough info for a comparison..

Here is a good link.. IntelliCenter

Keep in mind the pool builder is not going to sell you parts at his cost and his price includes installation and warranty work..

Thanks,

Jim R.

In general I think you will find PB prices are about 2X internet retail prices. For that you get installation and his warranty services.

The prices you posted are a bit rich but not highway robbery.

Don't forget about the PB's support services. Those never make it to an invoice. In addition to materials, installation and warranty service, he has to program it, test it, and teach it to you, and then field your phone calls when you forget what he teaches you! I'm not saying you'll be that kind of customer, but he doesn't know that. He's got to pad his quote to cover a lot of time that nobody considers as an expense to the PB. It adds up. And a reasonable profit on top of all that is just that, reasonable.