Mar 27, 2021
Indiana
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello!
I am new to the TFP world. I purchased a property with an existing pool, prior owners used the aqua smarte system. I am trying to clean my pool up for their sins!

I have completely removed the mineral pack and use of the tab pacs.

I am using liquid chlorine and seem to be only struggling with getting my TA down.

It’s around 150 today. I have lowered to PH to 7.0 with dry acid (did last night) but I cannot get TA to budge.

Any suggestions or tips?

FC 7.0
CC 0
TA 150
CYA 55
PH 7.0

Welcome to the forum!
Is there a reason you need to push the TA down quickly? Normally, through pH management using muriatic acid, the TA will come down to its happy spot.
Do not use dry acid. Dry acid is Sodium Bisulfate. The sulfates build in your water and will destroy metals and concrete (plaster).
Please fill out your signature.
I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry.

Welcome to the forum!
Is there a reason you need to push the TA down quickly? Normally, through pH management using muriatic acid, the TA will come down to its happy spot.
Do not use dry acid. Dry acid is Sodium Bisulfate. The sulfates build in your water and will destroy metals and concrete (plaster).
Please fill out your signature.
I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry.
I started to use the pool math calculator and it indicated that TA Was too high, and offered suggestions on how I should lower, which I followed. If that's really not a big deal, I can disregard and manage the PH with muriatic acid as you stated that will over time reduce the TA.

Reviving this a bit because I am confused. Over the last few days I have used a gallon of muriatic acid to bring my PH down, then aerated to bring it back up. The TA hasn’t gone down at all and I don’t know what is wrong, because I thought I’d see a re:

FC - 6
CC - 0
PH - 7.6
TA - 140

any thoughts?