Heating in cooler weather _ Best ways to get the most for the least

cchaynes

Jul 6, 2020
Wallingford, PA
I am curious if there are good resources for determining the best way to heat a pool in cool weather.

1) Just set the heater and let it run and pay the bills
2) Heat it only in the early morning to bring it up to temp and then let it drop back off each day as far as it goes

I know that the outside temp will drive whether #2 will even be possible/effective, but is there some school of thought on this subject?

I guess put another way, is it cheaper to maintain a water temp or let it drop and bring it back, I am not a thermodynamic engineer, just looking for some insights from those who tend to extend the season or live in a desert setting with cool overnight temps.

Thanks

Best thing? Use a solar cover anytime you aren't using it. It will retain a ton of heat. At first I avoided using them because they are are a pain to fold/maneuver. So I have it in 3 pieces. I can cover 90% of my pool this way and do it myself!

Best thing? Use a solar cover anytime you aren't using it. It will retain a ton of heat. At first I avoided using them because they are are a pain to fold/maneuver. So I have it in 3 pieces. I can cover 90% of my pool this way and do it myself!
I was thinking of making some big circles that I could throw in and pull out, I suppose every bit helps.

In California I have a solar pool heater that actually keeps it in a range that is "heatable:" but it's still going to be 500$ in gas per month I would imagine.

There are a lot of threads on this topic on the TPF website. It depends upon a number of factors:
Does your outdoor temperature stay below freezing for hours/days on end? Run the pump on a regular basis during those times to avoid frozen plumbing.
Are you avoiding "closing" the pool? Leave the heater on low all the time.
Do you want to swim daily? Try to finesse the heat so it is ready when you are.