Expensive to keep using liquid Chlorine

IronMike

Apr 22, 2020
Brentwood, CA
I took the advice from the forum to drain 80% of my pool water last July because of my high CYA (>100). Since then, I have been using the Taylor’s K-2006C test kit, liquid Chlorine and Muriatic Acid to balance the water chemistry and have stopped using Chlorine tablets. In this summer, I found myself adding one gallon of liquid Chlorine (~$5) almost every other day. Even that, my FC is still not at the ideal level. Below are my test results last Saturday and my level of FC throughout the week.

7/17 (tested a couple hours after 1gal of liquid Chlorine added)
FC 8
PH 8
TA 175
CH 575
CYA 35

7/18 - FC 2

7/19 - (added 1gal of liquid Chlorine)

7/20 - FC 2.5

7/21 - (added 1gal of liquid Chlorine)

7/22 - FC 2.5

7/23 - (added 1gal of liquid Chlorine)

Since I’m a new pool owner 2.5 years ago, this is my first year stop using Chlorine tablet, it has been quite expensive buying liquid Chlorine (almost $10 for 2 gallons) this summer. I’m just wondering if this is what everyone in the forum goes through or if there is something I can do better (and CHEAPER) to raise and maintain my FC level. Since I still have a brand new bucket of 50 lbs Chlorine tablet and my CYA has dropped from 60 to now 35, I’m wondering if it’s a good idea to use liquid Chlorine and tablet interchangeably based on my CYA level or even both at the same time during summer. I have also been using Muriatic Acid trying to lower my PH to 7.4-7.6. The PH of my tap water is 8, and I also need to fill my pool with tap water twice a week because of evaporation.

I live in California, and temperature has been mid 90s throughout the summer. My pool is also under direct sunlight with filter running 11 hours every day (8am-7pm). I also recently cleaned my filter cartridges a few weeks ago. Any suggestion is appreciated. Thanks!

Michael