CYA test inconsistency

Thormus

Bronze Supporter
Jul 8, 2019
Meridian/ID
Hi,
I'm fairly new to this whole TFP thing. I ran the CYA test 3 times now. first times it was close to 80 but today it showed up at 95. I have stopped using all pucks / trichlor and my chlorinator is off since my first test. I may still have pucks in there and maybe it has a leak? Or have I been performing the test wrong and my real CYA is 95? I have been floating a .5 CC for two weeks even at recommended chlorine levels. Any insights?

Take the pucks out in case the chlorinator has a leak.

The CYA test really can’t be read between the lines. Round up. You need to be careful because your CYA is getting high enough to make the FC levels tough to manage. Let it come down or exchange out a ton of water in a pool that size.

Take the pucks out in case the chlorinator has a leak.

The CYA test really can’t be read between the lines. Round up. You need to be careful because your CYA is getting high enough to make the FC levels tough to manage. Let it come down or exchange out a ton of water in a pool that size.
I will dump the pucks out of theyre in there.

The test is only +/- 10ppm, so those 2 results are within the accuracy of each other. Plus lighting has a significant impact on the test results, so that could influence the result.

The test is only +/- 10ppm, so those 2 results are within the accuracy of each other. Plus lighting has a significant impact on the test results, so that could influence the result.

+1
My reading will change by at least 10 going from the recommended place of outdoors in full sun with back to sun as apposed to in my well lite garage.

If you purchase and try there 'standard solution' it will greatly increase your confidence level of the test.

Welcome to TFP! Our experts will need a little more information. Can you please answer the following:
  • Now that you've gotten the tablets out how are you chlorinating?