Colorado gal testing the hot tub waters

LazyHensDaySpa

Dec 27, 2020
Evergreen, CO
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Hi all,

I’m totally new to all this. We decided to try out the low end ($$) of owning at hot tub this year. We usually frequent hot springs all year; but with covid we’ve been mostly home, so I thought I’d see if we were ‘hot tub’ people. I’ve heard it takes some maintence, dedication & education.
I didn’t really expect such a steep learning curve right off the bat. But, we decided to skip the chemicals initially, then came the infamous intex E90 error. I read a lot about what to do, seems like there’s lots of ‘ways’. However, despite being pretty good at chemistry in college ~ this real life application isn’t so straightforward...but maybe that’s because I messed it up first and then am attempting to fix it.
We’re breaking the rules and running it below 39 degrees. I’m hoping to keep it warm at least until mid week when more filters & the frog system are scheduled to arrive. If it’s warm enough, I’ll drain it and start over then. In the meantime, I’ve just been adding a chemical waiting and re testing...and of course the obligatory filter cleaning (I found a solution to help with that at Home Depot).
The manual recommended an equation for SI (saturation index) to be sure the water is balanced and safe to enter, but it’s for chlorine and I’m using bromine ~ any thoughts on how to be sure the water is safe chemically??

Welcome 😊
No chemicals = bacteria soup.
Please read 👇
ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
here’s a write up on bromine use 👇
A good test kit is imperative to maintain sanitary water & get accurate results
Test Kits Compared
& PoolMath can help u with calculating additions.
Since you haven’t used the frog system yet I suggest u send it back when it comes as it is just an overpriced bromine or chlorine delivery system that claims u need less chlorine/bromine to be sanitary because of minerals that u cannot even test for & that can cause other problems