Cartridge conversion DIY help

Cab968

Feb 16, 2019
DFW, TX
Hello all--

I'm looking for some advice / sanity check on a project I'm about to start. I'm new to doing this stuff myself, but fairly handy. I'm also lazy and easily confused, so the search turned up WAAAAAY to many threads for me to make any sense of. Here goes...

Current set- up:
~18,000 gallons, Quartz finish, salt, Intelliflo Variable Speed (3.0 hp), and PurexTriton 5000 DE filter (48sq ft), secondary pump for sweep, located in Dallas/Ft Worth

The tank is long in the tooth, with parts replacement adding up to more than the cost of a new unit. I *think* the Pentair 180008 FNS Plus is the modern replacement for this tank. However, the inlet/outlet location dimensions I'm seeing do not match up with what's currently in place from the multivalve--direct remove and replace doesn't seem possible--and there's not a lot of room for new plumbing twists & turns. So, I'm considering chopping it all off and switching to cartridge.

This is where I'm getting confused...not by the pros/cons of DE versus cartridge, but by the tank specs. I want to keep this 1 year old/$800 pump, I love it. Deciphering the manual, I come up with 150 GPM at priming speed (3400rpm), and 130 GPM at high speed continuous (3100rpm), with corresponding drops as the variable speed lowers.

More charts, more deciphering, and I've landed on the Pentair CCP420. I base this on the max flow of 150 GPM. Seems this is overkill for my size pool, but then I read "bigger is better" and "use the biggest the pump can handle" when it comes to cartridge....which should lesson the cleaning cycle as well.

So I turn to the forum....Does this equipment combo make sense? Should I drop to the CCP320 (120 GPM recommended)? Other than a 3-way valve to the old waste line, anything else I should consider?