Austin TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
I’d like to get some third party opinions before I meet with my pool builder tomorrow, especially any with tile experience.

We just had our tile completed on our build and I’m disappointed in the tile job on our SPA overflow. I’ve attached a picture. Is there a way to cut tiles this small and make them look better? Or is this as good as it gets?

Attachments

• 97F09A24-44C9-4AC2-A46E-9883FF616D31.jpeg
    97F09A24-44C9-4AC2-A46E-9883FF616D31.jpeg
    793.2 KB · Views: 133
That is terrible in my opinion.

It looks to me like the workman did not have the right tools to make clean cuts and used a nipper to bite chunks out of the tile until they fit.

It takes some artistry and pride in their work with the right tools and experience to get it right. Whoever did that was lacking a lot.

@jimmythegreek whaddaya think?

Reactions: Nikilyn
I’m not a tile pro but I don’t understand always they would miter the corners. It’s a sheet of small tiles. They should just line the sheets up next to each other.
Glass tiles are extremely hard to cut without chipping. Most people would just cut the mesh backing to the size they need not the actual glass tile. I’d be very upset. Good thing is they can simply take them out and replace without mitering them. Stand firm and good luck.

Reactions: Nikilyn and Newdude
Ooof. No care was taken there whatsoever. Shame on them. I think the grout will make it stand out worse and it needs to be redone. You don't care about their headache and profit loss to do so because it never should have been ok to set in the first place. They will cash your checks and never return. You will see that everytime you walk by forever. No way. No how.

Are the other spots/corners/joints/seams as bad, or were they all ok ?

Reactions: Jmerges