Want to replace 100% of my water

Jul 23, 2010
Southern NH
I've been fighting metal issues in my pool for the last several years. I feel the amount of metal in the water is too high and I'm tired of trying to manage the staining. I tried replacing as much as I could last year (leaving water up to the bottom of the stairs in the shallow end) but that wasn't enough. I've since removed the corroded heater from our plumbing and I need to start over!

I have a water service that can deliver the water from an area that is not high in iron (like our area), but I'm concerned about keeping the vinyl liner secure. As I understand it, the liner would need to be vacuumed tight against the walls to prevent tearing. Is this correct?

Can I do this on my own or is best left to the local pool pros? I'm pretty handy, but I'm not sure if this requires some specialized pumps/vacs.

Thanks!

@mknauss method of water exchange:

You can exchange some water without draining.

If you place a low volume sub pump in the deep end and pull water from there while adding water in the shallow end (through a skimmer or into a bucket on a step so you lessen the water disturbance) you can do a fairly efficient exchange. That is assuming the water you are filling with is the same temperature or warmer than your pool water. If your fill water is much cooler than your pool water, then switch it. Add the water to the deep end (hose on bottom) and pull water from the top step.

The location of the pump and fill hose may change if you have salt water, high calcium, etc.
In my pool, with saltwater and high calcium when I drain, I put the pump in the deep end and hose in shallow end. The water in the pool weighs more per unit volume than the fill water from the hose.

Be sure to balance the water out and water in so the pool level stays the same. Also be sure your pool pump is disabled during this process. Once started do not stop until you have exchanged the amount of water you wish.