Massachusetts
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Jandy Aquapure 1400
Hi all! I got a new Pentair VSP 2 years ago. Last year on startup it was fried and they replaced. Wouldn’t pull water. This year it’s running, but no water is pulling through. I’m afraid I will damage it leaving it running.

I poured water in the basket, lid on tight. No plugs in skimmers. Running at 2300 RPM. How long should it take for pressure to build and water to pull? I had a new pool company open it up for me this year. The water is cold (I’m in the northeast), but not sure if that would impact it?

Just trying to get it running to I can get to cleaning it and circulating the shock and stuff.

Any thoughts? I hate opening the pump ever, even to empty the basket, because it always takes a long time to start pulling. It is up at a slightly higher elevation than the pool.

I'm no expert, but if a Pentaire pump lasted a year, something is definitely very wrong. Failure to prime is most often a suction side leak or blockage, but can also result from a pressure side blockage (like a plugged filter).

I'm sure the real experts will ask for pictures of your equipment and info on how often you clean the filter.

One note is that 2300 is afaik pretty low for priming speed with a pad above pool. Max for your pump is 3450. You might get a much faster prime by increasing this. Also, you're right that running the pump with no prime for a long time will overheat the seal and cause big problem. (I have an intelliflo pump 2' above pool. My priming RPM is 3100. It takes about 40 seconds when the system has been completely drained.)

Last edited:
Thanks so much for this. I’m going to check the O-ring and ensure seal is tight tomorrow, and run at a higher speed for a minute. I think I fried it last year when trying to prime it to be honest. So will try to make sure I don’t do the same this year!!

Sar,

An IntelliFlo pump will suck paint off a wall, so something is wrong.. :scratch: