Variable Pump - Some Settings Too Powerful??

Oct 15, 2012
Southern KS
So, I have a CircuPool SmartFlo VSP (1.5hp), and I'm fairly new to understanding how it works (and pumps in general). I have a wide mouth Hayward skimmer and it seems like even though the water is just under halfway up on the skimmer, there are one or two speeds on the preset pump schedule that seem like where it's "too powerful" and the water just can't get in there fast enough (if that makes any sense). So what results is that although the the water never stops, it ebbs and flows. I've read through the manual, and I'm going to follow the trouble-shooting tips, but I was just wondering if this is a big issue and if anyone has some tips for me. I'm guessing I'm going to need to add more water (even though I'm getting ready to winterize it), as well as check the pump basket and maybe try re-priming the pump. Anyway, thanks as always to this incredible community! Cheers!

No need to run aVSpump at high speed. Running at a lower speed will use less electric also.

Determine the minimum RPM that the SWG flow switch will allow the cell to produce chlorine. Add about 200RPM to that number to account for the filter getting dirty. Then determine the minimum speed you can run to perform other functions - like skimming.

I run my VS pump at 1200RPM to produce chlorine and skim the pool. I run higher than 1200RPM to allow my infloor cleaner to function. Those are my only needs.

Reactions: Musmin2415
Is your weir door functioning properly? If the water level is half way up the skimmer mouth, I cant imagine how the flow wouldn’t be enough at high pump speeds, especially for a 1.5hp pump and I assume 2” piping from the skimmer to the pump.

M,

Like David above, it sounds to me like your weir door is sticking up or your water level is too low. A pump should not be able to suck more water out of the skimmer faster than it can 'fall' in from the pool.