indiana
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-20
I know all of the safety concerns, and inefficiency arguments I'm gonna get, but I have to satisfy my curiosity, so here goes...

Would a immersion heater placed in the skimmer piping heat the water flowing enough to just gain a few degrees within a few days for a 22000 gal in ground pool? I am considering a DIY solar heater, and solar blanket, but I have some experience with immersion heaters in industrial equipment and I started thinking about 110vac drop in heaters. As long as the pump is running, it should circulate some amount of heated water, correct?

If you couldn't tell, I am very new to pool ownership, and I can't be the only one to think of this type of thing.

Thoughts?

Let's talk BTU's. One BTU will raise one pound of water one degree Fahrenheit.
You have ~185000 pounds of water in your pool.

What size immersion heater are you considering? How many amps draw would it be.

The heat loss off the top of the pool would quickly remove any tiny amount of heat gain from a "drop-in" immersion heater. I've seen pool owners try and use 11kw heaters that are commonly used for spa, and require a 60a service. When I replaced one with a gas-fired 400k btu heater they told me that their power bill went through the roof and they MIGHT get a 1 degree rise in temperature per day on a 12 -15k gallon pool, if there was no wind. Most immersion heaters are rated and 12 - 1500 watts.

I'll play this game. It's usually worth a good laugh.

Standard 20 amp 120v circuit can handle 16 amps continuously. Let's pretend you have a 20 amp 120v circuit to your pool that's unused that you're planning to use for this. That's a 2 kW heater you can put in your skimmer.