To SLAM or not to SLAM

sivart

Apr 5, 2018
Grapevine, TX
I am a relative newbie to the TFP methods having started about a month ago. I've read the SLAM page and some other info I could find regarding SLAMing the pool, but I still have a question about it. Here are my test numbers:

PH 7.5
FC 9
CC 0
TA 85
CH 275
CYA 70

I drained half the pool a month ago to get my CYA number down from 140 to 70. I have been using only liquid chlorine since that time. I was maintaining an FC level of 8 until I noticed a little algae on the sides of the pool 3 days ago. I then raised it to 9, brushed the pool and did an OCLT test that night. The FC loss was zero. It is now three days later, and I see a very slight amount of algae in a couple of spots. In the past month, I have done 4 OCLT tests, and have never lost more than .5ppm, and my CC's have been at 0 for the past few weeks. The water itself is very clear. So should I SLAM the pool? If so, how long do I SLAM for? If I follow the SLAM instructions and brush once per day, I'll have passed all of the "You are done when" items on day one.

Well, there is a reason there are 3 conditions to stop the SLAM, one being the water is crystal clear (which includes no visible algae).

It is possible, obviously, to have a small level of algae without the CC or failing the OCLT.

I would suggest following the SLAM process, aggressively brushing the trouble areas. Likely you may only need to do this for a day or maybe 2 since you expect the CC and OCLT to not be a problem.

That is what I was considering doing. I get that there are the 3 conditions to stop the SLAM. It's just that the SLAM process requires daily brushing during the SLAM. If I brush daily, I'll never see algae with or without the SLAM. With the other two conditions passing, I wanted to get an idea of what the reasonable amount of time to keep the SLAM going would be. I'll try a day or two as suggested. Thanks for the reply.