TFP Maintenance methods

Areobee

May 29, 2019
West Palm Beach, FL
Moved from here.

Hello All! Thrilled to have found this site. So, we live in south Florida and we have a pool cage around our pool. Our pool finished this past January. We have had a pool guy since then. We never had any problems but it kills me to pay him every month for 15 minutes of work. I love to do things for myself and after going through this site, I feel I can do this cheaper. I will track my expenses for one year and let you know what my results are.

I bought the Taylor K-2006C testing kit along with the Taylor K-1766 salt water test kit. Little bit of a learning curve, but I am a math teacher and I love chemistry and I have picked it up pretty quickly with the aid of Taylor's YouTube channel explaining the kit in full.

Latest results
pH 7.6
FC 8
CYA 60
Salinity 4000
TA coming!

I have a few questions...
1. Our Pool has a spa with a waterfall. Total number of gallons is 12k. I have a Jandy Pro Series True Clear SWG. The manual says to set it at around 40% to start with. The pool campanies FREE Pool guy set it at 80% right off the bat. I guess that makes sense for a new pool getting started but the new pool guy I hired back in March has left it at 80% since taking over. It chlorinates from 9am-6pm. THOUGHTS?????

2. I remember the pool guy saying our chlorine was a little high the last time he tested. One of the charts I found on your site showed that if I have a CYA level of 60, FC should be about 6.8. THOUGHTS???

3. What is everyone's thoughts on an automatic pool vacuum?

Pool is clear, skin and eyes are fine. Nobody is complaining.

--Rob

Last edited by a moderator: