Test kit or no test kit?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Funnily enough, I have heard pool store owners and even pool chemical manufacturer reps call sodium hypochlorite bleach for short. It was at industry events so you know, behind closed doors and not to the public, but it was more than one person on more than one occasion.

"E" you may very well be good at how you choose to maintain and test pools. Im a novice still in my first year of pool ownership and self maintenance thus I would not attempt to care for others pools. You say there is no need for an expensive test kit ($50-$100 depending on needs or wants) but I would think for folks like myself who self-maintain our pools this investment is critical. The end result is I invest in a quality test kit, educate myself, follow established practices, seek advice from more than one person (TFP forum) results in a sanitary and clear pool along with self-satisfaction. Then there is the overall cost of doing it the TFP way or a pool store way or hiring a service. Even as a novice it is clear that TFPC is a "clear" winner!

Don't get me wrong there are obviously many who need your services as they are constricted by time, lack of knowledge, fear or belief thats how it should be done. Thats fine but even as a novice I will put my pool up against any pool you or others maintain as far as cost, sanitation, clarity of water and self satisfaction is concerned!

BTW - time spent to maintain my pool is approximately 15-30 min per week :)

Hi Laurie,

I've been around the pool industry for almost my entire life. These are just a few things I've picked up along the way:

-Salt cells tend to last anywhere from 4-5 years (From what you mentioned, it seems like it might be time to replace that one unfortunately)
-Never trust the reading given by the salt system
-No need for an overly expensive test kit like the k-2006 (Most pool professionals don't use these kits and I don't either)

As far as your chemicals,